2011 Semi-annual Workshop in Dynamical Systems and Related Topics


Semi-annual Workshop in Dynamical

Systems and Related Topics

The 22nd Fall meeting of the Workshop in Dynamical Systems and Related Topics

will take place on

October 20 - 23, 2011.

All lectures will be at the Mathematics Department (McAllister building)

at the Penn State University Park

This workshop first met at Penn State University in the spring of 1991. It has been hosted by Penn State University each fall since then, and each spring since 1992 by the University of Maryland, and is jointly sponsored by the two institutions. The basic funding of the workshop is provided by an NSF grant. Additional funding for this meeting, is provided by the Center for Dynamics and Geometry at Penn State.


Anatole Katok (katok_a@math.psu.edu)
Svetlana Katok (katok_s@math.psu.edu)

Conference staff assistant:
Hope Shaffer (shaffer@math.psu.edu, 814-863-9017)

Requests for reimbursement of local expenses will be considered by the organizers.

Participants will stay at the Atherton Hotel, Sleep Inn and Days Inn Hotels.

If you decided to participate in the conference, please, retrieve the Registration Form, fill it out, and email it to shaffer@math.psu.edu. dsws@math.psu.edu. A copy of your message will be sent to all organizers and the conference staff assistant

Click here for detailed University Park campus maps listing individual buildings.
General information about State College including restaurant guides, hotel information, maps, weather forecast, etc. is available here.
Travel instructions can be obtained from maps.google.com.

You may be interested in browsing the Penn State Center for Dynamics and Geometry webpage. There you will find our seminar schedule, list of special events, publications of group members, courses information.

Last modified October 2, 2011


sponsored by the Center for Dynamics and Geometry at Penn State

will be awarded on Saturday, October 22.

Saturday afternoon session will feature the award ceremony and talks dedicated to the award winning work and other achievements of the winner.



Artur Avila, CNRS, Institut de Mathématiques de Jussieu and IMPA

Giovanni Forni, University of Maryland

Andrey Gogolev, SUNY Binghamton

Michel Jakobson, University of Maryland

Boris Kalinin, University of South Alabama

Vadim Kaloshin, University of Maryland

Konstantin Khanin, University of Toronto and Landau Institute, Russia

Victoria Sadovskaya, University of South Alabama

Omti Sarig, Weizmann Institute, Israel

Lin Shu, Peking University and University of Notre Dame

Zhiren Wang, Yale University and MSRI

Bryce Weaver, Switzerland


Saturday morning session will feature a number of short talks by young mathematicians in parallel sessions.