Mary Lister McCammon Award for Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching

Mary McCammon, Professor Emerita of Mathematics, played a key role in the development of the Penn State undergraduate mathematics curriculum. She taught mathematics at the University from 1954 to her retirement in 1998, introducing such new classes as numerical analysis and computer programming. In the 1960s, she developed the mathematics department's precalculus courses, made changes to the calculus-course series, and introduced the use of graphing calculators and personal computers. She also was involved with the establishment of computer-science courses in the Department of Mathematics and went on to help establish the Department of Computer Science in 1965. Throughout her career, McCammon has been well known for her personal concern for her students and her excellent and exacting teaching methods. "I was tough but fair and I loved teaching," she says. "

Recipients are:

2020 Chris Byrne
2019 Amine Benkiran
2018      Svetla Jivkova
2017 Darla Forsha
2016 Lisa Melanson
2015 Steven Hair  
2014 Nestor Handzy  
2013 Moisey Guysinsky  
2012 Allison Louie  
2011 Serge Ballif  
2011 Christine Stachniewicz  
2010 Eric Simring  
2009 Cheryl Hile  
2009 Adrian Ocneanu  
2008 Wen-Ching Winnie Li  
2007 Wen Shen  
2006 Jo Battaglia  
2006 James A. Sellers  
2005 Linda Schobert  
2002 Ilie Ugarcovici  
2001 W. Dale Brownawell  
2000 Fay Jester  
1999 Patricia Schulte