Teresa Cohen Mathematical Service Award

Teresa Cohen received her PhD in Mathematics at Johns Hopkins University in 1918. She was a pioneer that paved the way for this generation of women mathematicians. She came to Penn State in 1920 where she taught Mathematics for over 60 years. She was the first female member of the university's mathematics department and the only woman for her first three-and-a half years.

Cohen was promoted to assistant professor in 1921, to associate professor in 1939, and to full professor in 1945 (one of only a few university full professors in the country at that time who were female.) Due to university regulations, she officially retired from Penn State at the end of 1961 but spent much of the next twenty-four years tutoring math students for free. As she once said, "I just like the pleasure of explaining and seeing someone understand." She continued devoting her time and energy to students until an accident at the age of 94 forced her to enter a nursing home in Baltimore. She died in 1992 at the age of 100.

Recipients are:

Date University Park Commonwealth Campus  
2020 Joe Roberts  
2019 Anna Mazzucato Joan Smeltzer, York
2018 Ludmil Zikatanov  
2017 Wen Shen Joan Smeltzer, York
2015 Victoria Sadovskaya                  
2014 Chun Liu  
2013 Sergei Tabachnikov  
2012 Jim Hager Heather Parizek, Dubois  
2011 Mary Erickson Juan Gil, Altoona  
2010 John Roe    
2009 Gary L. Mullen    
2009 Patricia Schulte    
2007 James A. Sellers Charles Helou, Delaware County  
2005 Jinchao Xu David Hurtubise, Altoona
2002 W. Dale Brownawell Lothar Redlin, Abington
2000 M. Carme Calderer Richard Barshinger, Scranton
1998 Douglas N. Arnold Zhibo Chen, McKeesport
1996 C. Eugene Wayne Javier Gomez-Calderon, New Kensington
1994 David M. Bressoud Ayoub B. Ayoub, Ogontz
1992 George E. Andrews John Dawson, York
1990 Donald C. Rung Jacquelyn Wells, New Kensington
1988 Peter Morris David Wells, New Kensington
1986 Paul Axt Richard Call, Allentown
1985 Peter H. Maserick James J. Reynolds, Beaver
1984 Mary McCammon Ronald Harshbarger, Beaver
1983 Robert Wells Anton Glaser, Ogontz
1982 Raymond G. Ayoub Roy E. Myers, New Kensington